New Year, New Me?

So we all made it to 2017. Just about.

I feel like 2016 was that year that felt NEVERending. Amirite? No? Just me then, ok.

Regardless of how you felt about last year, the NEW YEAR, the SHINY BrAnD NeW yEAr is often a time where people make resolutions and try to improve their lives and all that.

I never bother making resolutions because I have zero willpower and me saying on January 1st that I won’t eat pizza will only result in me getting Domino’s on Two for Tuesday on January 3rd. But I do have a desire. A wish, you could say, perhaps a hope. I maybe even have a dream.

I would like to better myself in general. I could do with going to the gym more (or at all tbh), being nicer, and all the standard resolution-y things. But I’m referring to just feeling better about myself and the things I do. I’d like to have more confidence in telling people when they’re wrong, as that’s something that I’ve suffered with over the last year. We’ve probably all been in that situation where someone’s said or done something that’s made you go ‘ummm no’, and instead of calling them out of it, just let it slide.

You’re perhaps wondering what any of this has to do with a year abroad. A lot, I would argue. I believe you need a certain amount of confidence to be able to do a year abroad. You’re leaving behind what you know to step into the unknown. I think you need to be confident in your abilities, and believe that you know yourself and what you’re doing. If you didn’t you probably wouldn’t have made it this far.

However,! I also think it’s important to be aware of your limitations. For example, I’m very well aware that I’m terrible at confrontation until I get to a breaking point, where it’s sometimes too late. It sounds so awfully cliche, but the older I get (with me being currently the ripe old age of 21), the more I realise that there is a time and a place to confront someone. There are certain situations where it’s not practical or safe to ‘make a scene’. There are also situations when it can be damaging to you or others if you don’t.

Now, I’m not suggesting that it’s a good idea to confront everything and everyone all the time; that would be silly. I just think that there are times when you perhaps need to stand up for yourself. If you go into a shop, buy your items and realise you’ve been short changed, it’s something to confront the shop about. Whether it was deliberate or not, it needs to be acknowledged.

I’m working on my limitations. If I’m honest, I’m not sure I’ll ever ‘get good’ at this confrontation thing. But I’ll keep trying, and I’ll keep trying to better myself in general.

Do you have any desires for the new year? Let me know in the comments, or drop me a message!

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Me?

  1. Really insightful piece. I like to believe the more you try at something the better you get at it, so I have no doubt you’ll improve the confrontation thing. In terms of my desires for the new year, I just want to make my amazing girlfriend as happy as humanly possible

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

